Tuesday, May 24, 2011


There are lot's of DVD titles coming soon so check out the DVD stand when you are in the library next. There is a mix of new and older movies so you should find something you will enjoy watching.
Below is a list of a few titles that will be on our DVD stand soon:

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Author Talk Georgia Blain for Library Week @ Hurstville City Library

Can't make it to the Sydney Writers' Festival? Then join us at the library for an evening with participant Georgia Blain who will introduce her new novel "Too Close to Home." In the tradition of The Slap and Indelible Ink, Too Close to Home is a dramatic account of contemporary Australian life.
Set against the back-drop of one of the most interesting events in recent Australian political history, the demise of the Rudd government the novel is an uncomfortable domestic drama exploring the failings of Freya and Matt, a couple who cannot lead the examplary lives they pretend they want.

Her recent non-fiction Births Deaths Marriages was shortlisted for the Nita B Kibble Award in 2009. She was named one of the SMH's Best Young Novelists in 1998 and has been shortlisted for the NSW Premier's Literary Awards.

Hurstville City Library, cnr Queens Rd & Dora St

Wednesday 25th May @ 7pm

Bookings 9330 6142

Books available for sale & signing

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

This may only affect students sitting their HSC this year and most likely students within their preliminary course! For many years, the Board of Studies have sent out many useful and vital resources to schools, institutions and libraries in regards to the HSC. These resources include the EXCEL books!!

The EXCEL study guide books have assisted many students over the years, in achieving exam success and study plans. At Hurstville City Library we have just recently received NEW HSC & SC STOCK!! How awesome is that?! Like we’ve mentioned before, at LMG we only offer the best.

For those who aren’t regular users or readers of these guides, we suggest that you come in today and browse through the guides. You won’t be able to put them down! You will find that these guides will help you to adjust your study timetable in a good way.

For HSC students it is very tough and time is minimal. We understand the pressure you undergo whilst preparing for an exam. In fact, I too have experienced the reality and difficulties during

HSC years and many LMG staff have! Making study notes of all your syllabus’ can be a very “hands on” job because it is very time consuming and requires a lot of effort.
Well not to worry because that’s why we have the EXCEL guides to help make it easier for you!

Most of the subjects are found in the Excel guides collection and basically it’s the majority of information you’re going to need when doing study notes.

In the Excel guides, the syllabus the subject of study is put out in sections and the topics within the sections are the topics of study. Making notes from these topics is now like cutting a piece of chocolate cake and eating it!! It’s as simple as that. It just makes your HSC life a whole lot better and you can get things done faster!

If you haven’t encountered a SUPER EXCEL guide yet then today is the day to do so. Don’t deprive your HSC experience of the possible marks you could get by using the Excel guides! The Hurstville LMG staff are always on alert for the HSC-starved students.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Prepare for IELTS Online

Are you studying for the IELTS exam?

Hurstville Library now provides access to an online preparation course that gives you practical help in getting ready for the all important exams.

Road to IELTS has online self study materials that guide you through the 12 themes that are commonly used in the IELTS exam.

Road to IELTS will allow you to:

  • practice IELTS listening tasks under timed conditions

  • view sample videos of speaking tests, highlighting good practice

  • develop techniques and vocabulary for writing tasks 1 & 2

  • work on authentic texts for the reading test, simulating the real exam

  • develop vocabulary in areas commonly used in the IELTS exam

Practice your writing, listening, reading and speaking skills in the comfort of your own home or come in and log on in the library.

Whether you're studying for the General or Academic test Road to IELTS can help you succeed.

Wednesday, May 04, 2011

Launch of "Hang out and Study" SC and HSC resources

Collection launch and some of what we hope will be many happy students
Originally uploaded by Hurstville City Library, Museum & Gallery

Hurstville and Penshurst Libraries have just launched this great collection of School Certificate and Higher School Certificate resources which include many different guides, English texts and DVD's.
We are very grateful for this grant from the State Library of NSW which now gives our resources a very big boost and will benefit the many students who use our Libraries. Don't forget to bring your library card! Come and check out the many subjects areas and copies available for loan.

Mother's Day Ideas!

Mother's day is just around the corner, and mothers all over Australia already have high expectations as to what they want to do on Sunday 8th May, 2011. They want to have breakfast in bed; to get lots of presents; and to be able to curl up and watch a good movie and/or read a good book.

Now if you get the feeling that you are going to be demanded to play courier, between Hurstville LMG and your mother, for these books and movies, but are not sure of what you will get her... then never fear because Hurstville LMG is here!

Once again I sweet talked the LMG staff into giving me a few ideas as to what they think mothers would like to see/watch for Mother's Day, and I have narrowed the list down to the top ten ideas for you!

First of all is Bridget Jones' Diary. We have the novel, audio book and movie all available at Hurstville Library.
Second is Pride and Prejudice. This classic novel is loved by women everywhere, and we currently hold the novel, audio book, movie and BBC series version at Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.
Third are books by Lisa Kleypas who is a wonderful romance author. Some of her books are available at Penshurst and the rest at Hurstville Library.
Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, was the fourth recommendation given. The novel and DVD are available at Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.
The fifth suggestion was the author James Patterson, an incredible Crime/Thriller author. His books are available in various languages as well as on Overdrive, at Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.
The sixth suggestion was another author, John Grisham. His novels are available in many languages, as well as on Overdrive and in audio books format, at Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.

The seventh suggestion was the musical Grease, available on DVD at Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.
Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali, was the eighth recommendation given by the Hurstville LMG staff. This book is available at both Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries.

Janet Evanovich, a humorous author, came as the ninth recommendation. Her books are available as audio books and in large print, at Hurstville and Penshurst Libraries.
The final suggestion, for when all else fails, is one of our many Penshurst paperback novels. Available at both Penshurst and Hurstville Libraries, there are many romance novels to suit all mothers' tastes.

So hurry in and check out some of these great ideas!