Thursday, October 16, 2014

"And the winner is..."

Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Described by the judges as being "profound and often harrowing," Flanagan's novel is about Australian soldiers working as POWs on the Burma Railway. Flanagan is the fourth Australian to win the prestigious award; the others being Thomas Keneally for Schindlers's Ark (1982), Peter Carey for Oscar and Lucinda (1988) and True History of the Kelly Gang (2001) and DBC Pierre for Vernon God Little (2003).
The other novels shortlisted for this year's award are:
All of which are available at Hurstville City Library.

No comments:

Post a Comment