Friday, October 21, 2011

Julian Barnes 2011 Man Booker prize winner

Julian Barnes was announced as the 2011 winner of the Man Booker prize for fiction for his novel Sense of an Ending
Regarded as the favourite to win since the short list was announced on 6th September, Julian Barnes has long enjoyed critical acclaim for his writing. His books Arthur and George ,England, England and Flaubert's Parrot were shortlisted on previous occasions.

His writing apart from fiction includes memoirs (Nothing to be Frightened Of), essays and short stories (Pulse, The Lemon Table).

The shortlisted listed authors for 2011 were:

Patrick deWitt The Sisters Brothers

Esi Edugyan Half Blood Blues

Stephen Kelman Pigeon English

A.D. Miller Snowdrops

For more about the authors and the prize go to the official Man Booker website. Borrow one of the books and let others know if you agree with the judges by adding a review and a rating on the library's catalogue.

No comments:

Post a Comment