Thursday, July 22, 2010

Prime Minister's Literary Awards Shortlisted Books at Hurstville Library, Museum & Gallery

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards are held annually to celebrate the contribution of literature to Australia's cultural and intellectual life. Recently those fiction and non-fiction titles in contention were narrowed down to a short list. Most are available from Hurstville City Library, or are on order - try one, see if you agree with the judges!

Non-fiction shortlist
The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent by Michael Cathcart
Strange Places: A Memoir of Mental Illness by Will Elliott
The Colony: A History of Early Sydney by Grace Karskens
The Life and Death of Democracy by John Keane
The Blue Plateau: A Landscape Memoir by Mark Tredinnick
The Ghost at the Wedding by Shirley Walker

Fiction shortlist
Summertime by J.M. Coetzee
The Book of Emmett by Deborah Forster
The Lakewoman by Alan Gould
Dog Boy by Eva Hornung
Ransom by David Malouf
Lovesong by Alex Miller
As the Earth Turns Silver by Alison Wong

Prime Minister's Literary Awards website for more information

No comments:

Post a Comment